Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 My first rifle >

My first rifle

Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

My first rifle

Old 11-17-2004, 10:45 AM

Default My first rifle

i've been unting deer for about 3 years, and i've always had to borrow a rifle from a friend, as i don't own one.

i've been using an old winchester model 94 30-30, and i'm thinking of purchasing one for myself.

i just wanted to get some opinions on it before i buy one....so what do you think of this particular rifle?

the only problem i had was that i thought i would not be able to mount a scope, because it ejects the shells from the top...but i have read that this is on the older models, and that the newer models eject to the side so that a scope can be mounted.
Old 11-17-2004, 11:08 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: My first rifle

you can mount a scope on a winchester 94, just hard to find a good mount. the weaver mount I had first would loosen up real easy so I ended up buying a burris mount which worked good for awhile then i started having problems with it loosening up too. I ended up trading that model 94 off for a marlin 336 which the shell ejects from the side and the top of the reciever is a nice flat surface perfect for mounitng a scope. Ive had the same scope and mount on the rifle now for 10 years and it is still as tight as it was when i first put the scope and mount on it. My suggestion is if you want to mount a scope on a 30-30 deffinately consider a marlin 336.
Old 11-17-2004, 11:16 AM
Giant Nontypical