Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 $@%*^ 1911, What now??? >

$@%*^ 1911, What now???

Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

$@%*^ 1911, What now???

Old 07-26-2004, 05:05 PM

Default $@%*^ 1911, What now???

Alright, I have been playing with this thing for several months now (since March I think) and once I work one problem out, another seems to arise.

First off the firearm is a Century Arms Chief 1911 in .45 acp.

The first problem was every few rounds as the slide came to its complete rear most position while cycling a round it would catch and fail to load the next round. The gun was equipped with an extended slide release and after reading a few websites recommendations, I swapped the original slide release for an Ed Brown stainless (standard, not extended) slide release. This seemed to have fixed the slide catching while cycling rounds.

Second problem, for some reason I was having problems with every couple of rounds chambering all the way into the chamber. Still haven't figured this one out after four boxes of ammo through it. Ran a different brand of ammo through it today and no jams or failing to chamber completely, may have just been the ammo but time will tell.