Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 Tikka rifles >

Tikka rifles

Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Tikka rifles

Old 06-28-2004, 09:16 AM
Fork Horn

Default Tikka rifles

Hello, Just want some input on how good these rifles are, think about picking up a Tikka light T3 in 300wsm. Which is better, tikka or savage. Any input on bad and good points.

Thanks
Old 06-28-2004, 09:53 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Tikka rifles

Since the T3 has a "one size fits all" detachable magazine, I would not want it for anything else but magnum length calibers! I do not like the one size fits all action, it defeats the purpose of a short action caliber! I'd go with the Savage!
Old 06-28-2004, 10:10 AM
Fork Horn

Thanks for the input, but could you explain better on the one size fits all and defeats the purpose of short action caliber, im new to these short mags.

Thanks
Old 06-28-2004, 01:10 PM
Nontypical Buck

He's saying that a long action receiver chambered in a short action round don't make all that much sense. The MFR makes just the one receiver, long action, no matter what it's chambered for. So you tote around extra steel, and have a longer bolt throw, just like you would if you were shooting say a 300 Win. Mag. (long action round), but you're actually shooting say a 300 WSM (short action round). Curious why they don't make a short action.
Old 06-28-2004, 01:12 PM
Giant Nontypical

Not to mention they have a 1/2" spacer in the Polymer magazine to accomodate the shorter cartridges..
Old 06-28-2004, 08:15 PM
Giant Nontypical

UncleNorby explained it well! The benefit of using a short action caliber is lost in the T3 because it only comes in a magnum length action. This should not really affect the quality or accuracy. It is just that to me, if I'm going to shoot a short action cartridge, I want all the benefits of the short action caliber, matched to a short action gun!