HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Guns (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/guns-10/)
-   -   Advice on Browning Bar - Please (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/guns/58449-advice-browning-bar-please.html)

Goodguy 04-10-2004 07:13 AM

Advice on Browning Bar - Please

Anyone with experience with the Browning Bar please help. My daughter who shoots left handed requires a rifle for moose hunting this fall. A Browning Lightweight 30.06 in new condition is available. She is not a big girl so recoil is somewhat of a factor and for that reason I tend to lean toward an auto-loader for her. Past personal experience with Remington 740 & 7400 jamomatics leaves me cold but I have no experience with the Browning. The decision has to be right the first time because the stock will have to be shortened to fit her so resale afterwards would not be easy. I know other options are available, i.e. left hand bold and recoil pad etc. etc. but for now I want to explore this Bowning option. Any information or advice on this rifle would be appreciated. Thanks. gg.

Quilly 04-10-2004 07:22 AM

RE: Advice on Browning Bar - Please

i too had problems with the rem 7400's and left a bad taste in my mouth and did not know if i should spend all that oney for a BAR. well i bought a MKII safari w/ iron sights in 30-06sprg and she shoots 2" at 50yds w/ iron sights standing up shooting with rem 180gr. sp's. never jammed on me at all and easy to clean.

well wortht he money spet for the BAR, recoil like most gas systems are light. i would go with a premium 165gr. if she has a problem with the 180gr's

stubblejumper 04-10-2004 08:38 AM