Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 Need opinions... Im new to shotguns. >

Need opinions... Im new to shotguns.

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Need opinions... Im new to shotguns.

Old 02-07-2004, 03:19 PM

Default Need opinions... Im new to shotguns.

I am looking for an inexpensive 12ga. shotgun. I have found that the Maverick Arms Model 88 is inexpensive, and seems to be made by mossberg. Does anybody have and experiance with this gun? Or does anybody have anyother suggestions for which I should purchase.
Old 02-07-2004, 03:26 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Need opinions... Im new to shotguns.

look for a winchester 1300
Old 02-07-2004, 10:51 PM

Another good gun would be a NEF, about $90.
Old 02-07-2004, 11:30 PM
Nontypical Buck

How cheap are you talking about?

The New England Firearms (NEF) single shot break-action shotgun is pretty decent. I used to have one in 20 gauge, in fact my it was the first gun that was truly mine. Never should have sold it, but I wanted a nicer shotgun when I got older. It was a good gun and I shot many pheasants with it before I traded it for a Winchester 1400 semi-auto shotgun. The two things that I didn't like about upland hunting with it was that it was a single shot (sucks when two rooster flush together), and that one had to remember to cock the hammer as they shoulder the gun.