Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 Best caliber for beginner? >

Best caliber for beginner?

Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Best caliber for beginner?

Old 01-11-2004, 08:41 PM
Fork Horn

Default Best caliber for beginner?

Hello everyone. New to the forum. I'm also new to hunting and was wondering what would be the best size caliber rifle for me. I haven't shot a rifle since I was young, and that was a .22 rifle. I will be hunting deer and wild boar. Right now I live in Florida, but soon will be moving to Ohio so I'm looking for something that will be good there too. I have heard a couple of recomendations for the 270 and the 30-06. Thanks.
Old 01-11-2004, 08:46 PM
Banned

Default [Deleted]

[Deleted by Admins]
Old 01-12-2004, 06:32 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Best caliber for beginner?

I just checked a couple of websites and it seems Ohio does restrict deer hunting to various gauge shotguns, muzzleloaders, and bowhunting. I'll probably look into a muzzleloader when I move there (in about a year and 1/2 or so). Until then I'm still interested in a centerfire rifle (270, 30-06,...). What would be a good choice? I weigh about 190lbs. so I don't think some recoil will be that much of a factor.
Old 01-12-2004, 06:43 PM
Giant Nontypical

I know I'll probably hear about this, but.....
Any caliber from 7MM-08 through the 30-06 will do for any whitetail hunting at most any range that deer should be shot at! There is not enough difference in them to raise a fuss over! Pick one you like and go with it!
Old 01-12-2004, 07:06 PM
Boone & Crockett

Any caliber from 7MM-08 through the 30-06 will do for any whitetail hunting at most any range that deer should be shot at! There is not enough difference in them to raise a fuss over! Pick one you like and go with it!
Yep, what he said except that I'd start out with the 243 and go on up from there.