HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Guns (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/guns-10/)
-   -   How about a 45colt lever action rifle for deer hunting? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/guns/48131-how-about-45colt-lever-action-rifle-deer-hunting.html)

Forestore 01-03-2004 09:35 AM

How about a 45colt lever action rifle for deer hunting?

I am a lever lover and I was thinking about doing something diffrent next year. I usually use a scoped 35 in the stand and a 30-30 in the brush, but I was thinking of going too a Marlins Cowboy 45 colt rifle next year. Anyone know anything about these or have used one? Any pro's or con's would be greatly appreciated.

akbound 01-03-2004 09:40 AM

RE: How about a 45colt lever action rifle for deer hunting?

I have no personal experience with the .45 Colt, from a rifle or carbine. But I have experience from the .45 Colt from a handgun. It works fine on deer within its range limitations. So I could only imagine that it would be at least as effective from a rifle.

I also have handled, shot, and hunted with many Marlin lever actions over the years.....and without exception....they have been fine hunting companions. If you like the rifle, get it and use it. With the .45 Colt not all factory loads make the best choice for deer hunting. So insure you pick a load that offers suitable performance for the task at hand!

Best of luck with your decision.

Vapodog 01-03-2004 03:26 PM

Do yourself a favor and find a .44 magnum lever.....it's a better gun than the .45 Colt because it has loading data and you'll never have to wonder if some poor guy got some of your ammo for his Colt SAA clone.

The .45 Colt as standard factory loading is a poor choice for deer.......the .44 Magnum is a fine choice. Handloaded the .45 Colt is equal to the .44 Mag.....but your ammo is an accident waiting to happen.....

C. Davis 01-03-2004 05:22 PM

[/quote]