HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Guns (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/guns-10/)
-   -   Needing advice on new gun not grouping (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/guns/421560-needing-advice-new-gun-not-grouping.html)

Huntingislife08 08-22-2019 06:02 PM

Needing advice on new gun not grouping

I recently bought the Browning Hell’s Canyon in the Long Range model with the McMillan stock in 300 wm. I topped it with a Leupold vx5hd with CDS. So I started shooting this gun a few months ago and have gotten very frustrated. It groups fine at 100 yds. 1/2” groups. The problem is moving back to 200. The best it’s doing is about 1.5” groups with as much as 3-4”. I’m using a lead sled, and when shooting I’ll shoot twice and let the barrel cool 15-20 mins. I’ve tried Hornady 200 grain eld-x, nosler AccuBonds 180 grain, and Barnes ttsx in 180 grain. I have tried using a copper fouling cleaner, and have even used a bore snake between shots. Anyone have any advice or tips? Getting very frustrated! Thanks for your time

bronko22000 08-23-2019 04:52 AM

Just getting into long range shooting myself (I don't even have my rifle yet. Its waiting at my local shop til I get home) and there is so many things you can do. By stating all the bullets you're using I assume you're reloading.
The first thing I would do, if you have a chronograph is to use the Satterlee method. If you don't have a chrony then try the OCW method. You can find out how by searching on line. Also, read my thread on OCW in the reloading section. Nomercy has some excellent advice which I am going to do.
PS: I'd start using either of these methods seating the bullets .010" off the lands if your magazine will accept them.

RaySendero 08-23-2019 05:12 AM

Originally Posted by Huntingislife08 (Post 4360000)
It groups fine at 100 yds. 1/2” groups. The problem is moving back to 200. The best it’s doing is about 1.5” groups with as much as 3-4”.