Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

New Hunter

Old 12-09-2018, 10:09 AM
Spike

Default New Hunter

Hi, ive decided to take up hunting and will be starting next year. Though im new to hunting im not for firearms but i am wondering about a good rifle for deer. My budget is 400 or less and am looking for something in 308, 30-06, 6.5 creedmoor, or 556 but am open to other calibers good for deer. My question would be is there a good reliable bolt/lever action that is chambered in one of those calibers for around that price? Also any begginers tips would he appreciated it as well, thank you!

Last edited by PrimordialVoid; 12-09-2018 at 10:09 AM. Reason: More came to mind
Old 12-09-2018, 10:19 AM
Typical Buck

Lots of great choices. Somewhat depends on the ranges you hunt. Though I use 30-06 at 30 yards, which has a ot longer range.
30-06, 308, 7mm-08 remington, 270. 6.5 creedmoor has become popular with long range hunters. Not sure price of ammo or selection in all places.

Go to a store an handle some rifles. There are plenty of rifles in that range. Might be better if you go up $500. Any cheap scope will probably do. But if get into it, that is an area where you may want to invest.

Lots of sales this time of year on clothes. Sure you don't need anything fancy, but you need something. Especially in cold climates. When shopping I look at how load the fabric is. But I hunt at close range, and even then probably not a huge deal. I like wool and fleece.

Go somewhere and handle some rifles. Also consider used off armslist or from a dealer.
Old 12-09-2018, 10:22 AM
Typical Buck

Obviously need to be able to shoot it. Next will be a place to hunt. Ladder stand, box blind, stalking, pop up blind. Stalking and walking is fun,but is harder for new hunter. If you have private land, can build a box blind, put something up. Public land you probably can make something out of brush. Check laws in your state.