Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
long range rifle >

long range rifle

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

long range rifle

Old 01-19-2018, 06:14 AM
Boone & Crockett

Originally Posted by jeepkid
Will you be handloading for it or shooting factory ammo?
I've been handloading for over 50 years. About the only thing I shoot that I don't handload for are my rimfire rifles and pistols! So yes I would be handloading.
Old 01-19-2018, 06:25 AM
Giant Nontypical

Originally Posted by bronko22000
I've been handloading for over 50 years. About the only thing I shoot that I don't handload for are my rimfire rifles and pistols! So yes I would be handloading.
Your options are endless then...I wouldn't do a Creed since it's only advantage is good factory ammo.

A 7mm WSM or 6.5 gap4s would be good ones...
Old 01-21-2018, 07:43 PM
Super Moderator

You could set up on one of those powerlines up at camp and take a pretty long poke!

Since you said you don't plan to hunt with it I would look on the lighter side. It'll be cheaper to load, and easier on the shoulder.

Lots of people shoot the .308 to a grand. Although it's kind of a "boring" choice.

The 6.5s are popular.

Lots of good options available since you handload as well.

-Jake
Old 01-22-2018, 05:21 AM
Boone & Crockett

Originally Posted by Bocajnala
You could set up on one of those powerlines up at camp and take a pretty long poke!
Since you said you don't plan to hunt with it I would look on the lighter side. It'll be cheaper to load, and easier on the shoulder.
Lots of people shoot the .308 to a grand. Although it's kind of a "boring" choice.
The 6.5s are popular.
Lots of good options available since you handload as well.
-Jake
That thought had crossed my mind then I could have you go fetch it for me...

Or maybe I could just use my .45-70 and spine them at 1000 yards! Not sure if I could get enough elevation on the scope however.