Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
Long range rifle with 2.5" groups @ 100yrds >

Long range rifle with 2.5" groups @ 100yrds

Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Long range rifle with 2.5" groups @ 100yrds

Old 08-08-2017, 07:25 PM
  #1  
Dominant Buck
Thread Starter
 
burniegoeasily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: land of the Lilliputians, In the state of insanity
Posts: 26,274
Default Long range rifle with 2.5" groups @ 100yrds

This is driving me nuts. I was out sighting in a few new rifles, along with one that I have been working on. The one giving me grief is a 300 win mag in 110ba Savage in a Stealth chassis. I am running a Nikon 1000x 4x18x50 scope on vortex rings, with a fully free floated, precision , fluted barrel. Basically set up to drive tacs. Everything new. I have been pulling 2.5"-3" groups with factory ammo. Even with my hand loads, I use with my other 300, groups about the same. I also had out my 338 Lapua getting 1" groups easy, a 223 bolt gun getting .75" and my 7mm mag getting less than an inch. I have pulled apart the 300 twice to check bases, rings, crown, etc. Everything is locktited down.
burniegoeasily is offline  
Old 08-08-2017, 07:38 PM
  #2  
Giant Nontypical
 
jeepkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ****ifornia
Posts: 5,052
Default

Try different ammo.

Clean the barrel.

Check the crown.

Try different ammo.
jeepkid is offline  
Old 08-09-2017, 05:31 AM
  #3  
Typical Buck
 
Berserker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: WI&UP
Posts: 751
Default

I say try a different bullet. I got one gun likes partions, other interlocks. Same length and twist. Hornady are 1/2 the price. But shoots them 3-4" wild. Doesn't really start to shoot interlocks that well until the speed gets up there.

Maybe try a different grain. It is fun to try new loads, but also frustrating.
Berserker is offline  
Old 08-09-2017, 05:33 AM
  #4  
Typical Buck
 
Berserker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: WI&UP
Posts: 751
Default

Have you had a chance to try 200 yards? Does it keep opening up, or stay about that? At some point, might want to try out of curosity.
Berserker is offline  
Old 08-09-2017, 07:45 AM
  #5  
Nontypical Buck
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2,743
Default

have you lapped the barrel, inspected the crown<
what is these OAL before making contact with your bullets on lands?

maybe its running longer/shorter than your other 300's? too much/little jump?
every rifle can be different in what it likes
I have a few custom higher end rifles that HATE many brands of ammo and loads
BUT find the one it likes and its a 1/2 MOA gun all day
I about blew a gasket when I got it back from custom shop,after buying the one, and it shot like your's? till I found what it likes

some rifles are just more picky than others I think??
ALso,
on the OFF chance of things, can you swap rings base and scope from a known GOOD one?
never know, there, seen strange things happen before?
mrbb is offline  
Old 08-09-2017, 08:28 AM
  #6  
Dominant Buck
Thread Starter
 
burniegoeasily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: land of the Lilliputians, In the state of insanity
Posts: 26,274
Default

I have tried different hand loads. I have been fire polishing the barrel (shoot three, clean and cool). I am only on 20 of the 60 rounds through it to finish polishing. Right now i have put 180 grain and 150 grain bullets. I have two more guns to sight in today. Once I finish I am going to cook several loads and shoot a tree and see what it likes. Actually, I might wait and shoot the tree after I finish the barrel. I have never had this issue, especially on a precision barrel. I usually have a gun dialed in long before I have it shot in.
burniegoeasily is offline  
Old 08-09-2017, 08:47 AM
  #7  
Dominant Buck
Thread Starter
 
burniegoeasily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: land of the Lilliputians, In the state of insanity
Posts: 26,274
Default

Found the problem. I was micing the barrel and found a small imperfection on one of the lands, at the crown. Can't see it but can definitely measure it. I am going to recrown and head out. Cross your fingers.
burniegoeasily is offline  
Old 08-09-2017, 10:22 AM
  #8  
Dominant Buck
Thread Starter
 
burniegoeasily's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: land of the Lilliputians, In the state of insanity
Posts: 26,274
Default

That was it. I refaced the barrel and cut a 11 degree crown. Now it's sub moa.
burniegoeasily is offline  
Old 08-09-2017, 11:52 AM
  #9  
Giant Nontypical
 
jeepkid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: ****ifornia
Posts: 5,052
Default

Originally Posted by burniegoeasily
That was it. I refaced the barrel and cut a 11 degree crown. Now it's sub moa.

NICE!!!
jeepkid is offline  
Old 08-09-2017, 12:16 PM
  #10  
Nontypical Buck
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2,743
Default

glad you found it, I was thinking a crown issue too, doesn't take much to rub things the wrong way and make you go nuts LOL
mrbb is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.