Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
Have you become an (X Ring) person? >

Have you become an (X Ring) person?

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Have you become an (X Ring) person?

Old 11-22-2015, 07:29 AM
Spike

Default Have you become an (X Ring) person?

After 20 years of really paying attention to trying to shoot truly good,tight groups,i just stand a gun that won't!!!!!!!The previous 30 years,i was a 9 inch paper plate shooter. If i could hit the plate at 100 yards i was an expert [to myself].
Being that i hunted the hills and mountains of Pa. Also thick brush and jump shots,i had a 30-30 lever action.
I had given my 30-30s ,2 of them,one to my son and the other to my son-in-law. They brought both of them to me to go over and make sure that these guns were ready for deer season. It has been about 15 years since iv'e even touched a 30-30,so i am happy to play with them???
All i will say is i had a lot higher expectations for these 2 guns and myself shooting them? I tried to get them to shoot like my other guns? I have loaded 5 different bullets and as many powders and 2 inches at 50 yards and 6 to 8 inches at 100 yards,is the best these will do!
I can hear it now"My 30-30 will shoot 1 inch groups all day long". #1,i am glad for you and #2,i would have to see it.These 2 guns aren't ones like that??????
I have a new,in the box,308 Win,that i am getting ready and i am going to give to my son. He missed 2 bucks last season with his 30-30! Is it him or the gun? Its the gun,i trained him how to shoot?
Mounting Man(247)
Old 11-22-2015, 07:40 AM
Super Moderator

A marlin 336 at 100 yards. shot the 2 shots to the left, adjusted scope and shot a 3 shot group, adjusted scope and set it right in the middle. I admit this is not typical of most lever action .30-30's. But I do have a shooter.
-Jake
Attached Thumbnails Have you become an (X Ring) person?-.30-30.jpg  
Old 11-22-2015, 08:07 AM