Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
7 mag for elk >

7 mag for elk

Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

7 mag for elk

Old 11-17-2015, 08:40 AM
Typical Buck

Default 7 mag for elk

We have used the 7 mag with mixed results on elk @ 400 plus yardages. Most of the time shooting core lokt 150s. It would appear that it lacks the foot pounds of energy to be lethal on marginal shots. Given that all shots are not perfect what factory ammo would you recommend or should we step up in caliber?
Old 11-17-2015, 09:05 AM
Giant Nontypical

Really - not enough energy at 400 yards ??

http://www.gunnersden.com/index.htm....on-magnum.html

Marginal shots.............. maybe a .416 Rigby !
Old 11-17-2015, 09:22 AM
Giant Nontypical

I've been killing elk with a 7mm Mag for over 40 years. My brother, father and grandfather all use or used the cartridge as well. I'm guessing my family has killed between 120-140 elk with them. So, I'm going to say it was plenty of power but we use 160-175 gr bullets.
Old 11-17-2015, 09:51 AM
Nontypical Buck

Lots of elk get killed every year with .243wins and Durty Thurty's - it's definitely not a problem of kinetic energy. Most of the elk I've killed have been with "lesser cartridges" meaning less kinetic energy than the 7mm RM.

What does mixed results really mean? Elk running off? Not dropping DRT? Not recovered?

What does "marginal" really mean? Are you talking about shooting a 1.5MOA load at elk so your best bet is that you're within 6", or are you talking about taking less-than-ideal shot angles, like quartering towards or head-on shots?

What do your recovered bullets look like? The Cor-lokt is a good bullet, shouldn't have any problem taking down any elk at 400yrds or less.
Old 11-17-2015, 10:25 AM
Typical Buck