Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
Has my kid outgrown this gun? >

Has my kid outgrown this gun?

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Has my kid outgrown this gun?

Old 09-05-2015, 11:33 AM
Typical Buck

Default Has my kid outgrown this gun?

When my daughter was 9, i bought her a rem youth 243 with. 3x9 burris signature scope for deer hunting in florida. She is now 14 and 5'6" tall, 120 lbs, just started high school. I am far from an expert but i get the impression this gun is not only too small but maybe way too small. She seems scrunched up trying to get a view and angle thru the scope. Do you think my suspicions are right based on what you know about the youth gun and my kids size?

If yes, can you recommend a replacement gun that would fit her better in 243? I would prefer to surprise her with a new gun but wonder if that is a mistake due to the importance of getting a good fit.

Last, i have been interested in a low recoil pig and coyote gun. Wanted a 223 semi auto but now thinking i could take the scope off the youth and use the factory open sights of her old 243 as my buggy, varmit, pig gun. I know it will be short for me as im 6'2" but w o a scope and for pig, coyote, wondering if it might work just fine and save me from buying another gun and having to sell the youth rem
Old 09-05-2015, 11:54 AM
Boone & Crockett

You can add length to the butt stock or put a thicker recoil pad on the gun if it is too short. Nothing wrong with the caliber for her.
Old 09-05-2015, 12:47 PM
Nontypical Buck