Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

marlin x7

Old 01-19-2015, 07:33 PM
Spike

Default marlin x7

Greetings all,

I am new to the whole hunting rifle world. I want to get into it. As the title suggests I am looking to purchase a marlin X7 30-06 for around $400 with scope(probably worth mentioning). I know the guys at the store are trying to hype it up for the sale but my question is would this be a good rifle? My goals are eventually to go deer hunting at the most .I mostly want to take it for target shooting though. I can understand if this wouldn't be the best rifle to start with.

I guess my questions are is this a good overall rifle? Also what kind of price would be reasonable and how is this rifle for dependability? I just don't want to buy a cheap rifle and then have to upgrade later when i actually want to hunt game. Also don't want a lemon right out of the gate.

Any help would be appreciated.
Old 01-20-2015, 05:20 AM
Typical Buck

I have never owned one but my nephew and brother in law both own one in 270. Neither one of them hunt a lot but both have taken deer with them and shot targets. They say they function flawlessly and group really nice on paper. As for price I believe the both gave around 350 new with out scopes. That has been 5 or so years ago. Hope this helps!
Old 01-20-2015, 01:12 PM
Fork Horn

i was in the same spot about 2 years ago i needed my first deer rifle and i looked at reviews untill my eyes burst and i bought the mossberg 100 atr 30-06 i am a mossberg fan i love the looks of all there rifles if i were you i would go after the atr and with the money you save buy a nice scope just one mans opinion though you cant go wrong with either hope this helps
Old 01-20-2015, 05:55 PM
Spike