Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
7mm WSM - Your thoughts..... >

7mm WSM - Your thoughts.....

Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

7mm WSM - Your thoughts.....

Old 12-20-2013, 01:19 PM
Typical Buck

I have a Kimber Montana in 325 WSM. No feeding problems with the short mag round at all.

I have no experience with the 7mm WSM but it should be the equal of the great 7mm Rem Mag ballistically with all but the long 175 grainers. The lighter and shorter rifle is always nice too.
Old 12-20-2013, 02:14 PM
Nontypical Buck

Originally Posted by BarnesX.308
the 7mm WSM is ballistically a little better than the 7mm Rem Mag so you can't really go wrong there.
Am I missing something? 7mmRM has more case capacity. I'm not around factory loads though so maybe they do list the WSM faster..
Great round though. Get the 7mmRM punch in a shorter/lighter package.
Old 12-20-2013, 02:27 PM
Nontypical Buck

Am I missing something? 7mmRM has more case capacity. I'm not around factory loads though so maybe they do list the WSM faster..
It's slightly faster because they case is more efficient. The shorter and wider case allows the powder to burn more completely and over a shorter span. So, they can develop full velocity in shorter barrels than the longer cases.
Old 12-20-2013, 02:42 PM
Nontypical Buck

Originally Posted by BarnesX.308
It's slightly faster because they case is more efficient. The shorter and wider case allows the powder to burn more completely and over a shorter span. So, they can develop full velocity in shorter barrels than the longer cases.
it may be more efficient, but loaded to the same pressure the larger case capacity creates more gas, which makes more velocity, no way can the wsm make more velocity than the 7 RM, cubic inches makes horsepower no matter how ya look at it
RR
Old 12-20-2013, 02:42 PM
Typical Buck

I still say the 7mm rem is a better round then the 7mm wsm.