HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Guns (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/guns-10/)
-   -   Inherited a couple of shotguns -- looking for advice (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/guns/386882-inherited-couple-shotguns-looking-advice.html)

ZoSo 11-10-2013 03:47 PM

Inherited a couple of shotguns -- looking for advice

Hello,

I'm new to posting on this forum, so my apologies if this post belongs in the individual hunting sections, but I thought I'd try here.

I'm a novice upland bird hunter (mostly grouse) but looking to start hunting duck soon. I just inherited a couple of old shotguns from my grandfather -- the first guns I've owned -- and I'm wondering if anybody can help with some advice. In terms of my experience, I'm used to hunting grouse and rabbit with a single-shot break action .410.

1. A Winchester Model 12 Featherweight (12ga, full choke), very good condition. Would this be a good starter gun for getting into duck hunting?

2. A Mossberg 185k-a (20ga, adjustable choke) bolt action with 2-round clip. I know bolt action shotguns aren't ideal for getting rounds off quickly, but I'm curious about opinions for this as an upland bird/small game gun.

I'd been considering buying a new gun this winter, but seeing as I'm cash-strapped I'd rather not. Any thoughts?

Thanks!

8mm/06 11-10-2013 10:47 PM

Both guns will serve you for duck ... if needed, but I'd tell you to take the Model 12 out the first 3 times you go duck hunting. I think you'll find with different types of hunting ammo you can hunt ducks, deer, grouse, rabbits, woodcock, squirrels ... the list is endless, ....

All you would really need is another Model 12 in 16 gauge. Wish I had one in 16.

The Mossberg, if in good condition, will last several lifetimes. 20 gauge is a very nice starter shotgun for smaller framed folks, but fit is more important than poke.