Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
AR Hunting Platform >

AR Hunting Platform

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

AR Hunting Platform

Old 09-22-2013, 02:02 PM
Nontypical Buck

H335 is ball powder, so yes it is more temp sensitive than single based powder due to it containing nitroglycerine, but to be honest I have never had a most accurate load using varget, every rifle that I have ever messed with varget in, I could find a more accurate load with another powder.
RR
Old 09-23-2013, 04:20 AM
Nontypical Buck

I have a Bushmaster .450. I went with it over the .50 Beowolf & .458 Socom because it's flatter shooting (at 2200fps) and ammo seems to be more available & Hornady makes it. I have stockpiled a little, approx 100rds. Since it only serves as my deer rifle, I don't need to hold onto alot of ammo at any given time.

Last season was my first season to hunt with it and I shot a buck and 2 doe's. All 3 dropped where they stood. One of the doe's was at 160yds....the other 2 were both about 75-80yds.

Here is a pic of the gun and my 100yd 3-shot group from the range this past weekend.

At 100yds I need to be 1.8" high to be dead on at 150.

In Indiana, they increased our legal cartridge size from 1.6" to 1.8" and the bushmaster casing is exactly 1.8".
Attached Thumbnails AR Hunting Platform-450.jpg   AR Hunting Platform-group.jpg  

Last edited by Primitive Weapon; 09-23-2013 at 04:28 AM.
Old 09-23-2013, 01:39 PM
Nontypical Buck

Originally Posted by Primitive Weapon
I have a Bushmaster .450. I went with it over the .50 Beowolf & .458 Socom because it's flatter shooting (at 2200fps) and ammo seems to be more available & Hornady makes it. I have stockpiled a little, approx 100rds. Since it only serves as my deer rifle, I don't need to hold onto alot of ammo at any given time.