HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Guns (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/guns-10/)
-   -   100% Newbie (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/guns/378045-100-newbie.html)

ssantos87 01-17-2013 07:24 PM

100% Newbie

How's it going everyone? I am extremely new to hunting. I got my hunting license over the summer and went dove hunting with a friend of mine who has always been really big into hunting and guns. I loved dove hunting. I really want to get into hunting; but honestly need help. My parents never hunted so I had no one to learn from when I was young. So, I would appreciate if you all could help me and pass down some of your knowledge.

First things first, I need to buy a shotgun. My friend highly recommends that I buy a new one and not a used one because by buying a used one I might be inheriting someone else’s problems. My question basically is what would be a shotgun for me to buy my first time? I will use it for basically small game and maybe deer. I want a 12 gauge semi-automatic. He suggested the Remington 1100 or 1187 or the Winchester X3. I would appreciate all feedback. I hope I didn’t post this in the wrong section and get kicked out.
Well thank you everyone in advance.

gregrn43 01-17-2013 09:09 PM

Welcome to the forum. Either one would be fine for small game or deer.

DROX 01-18-2013 04:13 AM

Welcome to the forum! You will find there are lots of good experiences and opinions shared on this website. Some of these folks have been around a loooong time. In fact, I could believe they were around to help Noah (think Ark) dock up his boat. From hunting style to gutting techniques to pre-hunt rituals, you can find it all here. Of course, some of us are closer to our opinions than others and, as such, in some cases causes more friction than is necessary; still all good!