Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
New .243? Which rifle? >

New .243? Which rifle?

Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

New .243? Which rifle?

Old 12-05-2012, 02:14 AM
Fork Horn

Default New .243? Which rifle?

Ok. I've been wanting a new hunting rifle for quite some time and have settled on the .243 Win. I just can't decide which rifle. I have a thing for "pretty rifles" and I'm considering a Savage Model 14 American Classic or a Remington Model Seven CDL. Does anyone have any experience with either of these rifles?? I've owned a Savage before and have nothing but good to say about it. I have no experience with Remington however and have heard mixed things on their quality these days. All input is appreciated.

http://www.savagearms.com/firearms/models/

http://www.remington.com/products/fi...seven-cdl.aspx
Old 12-05-2012, 02:20 AM
Fork Horn

I have a Remington Model 7 but it's not chambered in .243Win. It is a great handling rifle and very smooth action. It is one of my favorite rifles. You could do far worse than the Mod 7. They are light weight and handle quick. I have no first hand experience with Savage other than an old model 340 in 30-30 so I can't say much about them. Other rifles to consider are Tikka and CZ as well as Howa/Weatherby vanguard, and Browning. They are all accurate well built rifles. I have heard and read good things about the new Winchesters as well.
Old 12-05-2012, 03:32 AM
Nontypical Buck

Don't forget the Ruger models either.
Old 12-05-2012, 03:54 AM
Nontypical Buck

IMO, a new FN made Winchester M70 Featherweight is a very nice rifle and would be my pick over the two you listed.
Old 12-05-2012, 04:23 AM
Fork Horn

My choice would be the Remington.
Old 12-05-2012, 05:31 AM
Nontypical Buck

Model 7's are very nice. Great combination of size, weight, and quality. My son has a Ruger M77 compact in .243, its nice too...but I personally like Remingtons better.