Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
Gun Cleaning >

Gun Cleaning

Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Gun Cleaning

Old 10-10-2012, 01:26 PM
Spike

Default Gun Cleaning

Hey everyone, I am new to cleaning guns and just picked up a newbie kit at Sportsmans Warehouse. I bought an Outers gun cleaning kit for about $16. I bought the Universal version because I want to use it for my .22, .270, 30-06, AR-15, and 12ga. Below is my process that I did when cleaning my .270:

Used .22/.270 jag and inserted numerous patches with Barnes Cr-10 on them. Afterwards I ran some dry patches through it so I didnt see any blue. Then I went on to put CR-10 on my .270 bronze brush and inserted it into the gun. However, I noticed that there was ALOT of resistance when pushing it down the barrel? I noticed that the cleaning rod was flexing alot as well. (Probably because its a kit rod and multi-pieced). However, I continued and then took off the brush and ran a few more dry patches and then a last patch with gun oil through it.

So what I want to know is, why in the heck was the brush so hard to push through the barrel? And should I get Hoppes #9 for general cleaning rather than CR-10? Lastly, am I supposed to leave the last single coating of oil in the barrel to protect it? If so, do I run a dry patch through it before the next time I shoot it?

P.S. For the record, I was not using a bore guide because I have yet to purchase one.
Old 10-10-2012, 05:57 PM
Fork Horn

Assuming you have three pieces of rod there. If you hold the handle on the back end of the rod and don't support the front of it as you insert the brush then yes, it will flex and the brush should have some resistance. And just make sure you have the right size brush. The CR 10 is all you need as a solvent.