Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
First Rifle Suggestions >

First Rifle Suggestions

Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

First Rifle Suggestions

Old 05-07-2012, 11:04 AM
Spike

Default First Rifle Suggestions

While I own a handgun and am more familiar with it, I am fairly new to guns in general. I've only been shooting for a year or so, and have minimal experience with rifles. I have shot a couple .22s as well as several WWII era rifles that a friend of mine has. Of those, I seemed to have the most success with the SKS. I really want to focus on marksmanship more than anything, and I do know that I'm not interested in a .22. I want something that I could someday learn to deer hunt with, if I choose to go down that path.

I tried to look on several manufacturer websites such as Remington and Ruger, but am more overwhelmed than anything by the terminology I don't understand at this point. So if I could either get some suggestions on some good Rifles to start with, or some things that I should be looking for in the specs, that would be incredibly helpful. As far as my budget goes I would like to stay at least below $1,000.

Thank you for your time
Old 05-07-2012, 01:00 PM
Spike