Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
Long list of wants >

Long list of wants

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Long list of wants

Old 02-24-2012, 12:41 PM
Spike

Default Long list of wants

Ok so I'm new to gun owning. My dads got a safe full of stuff iv been shooting since I was about 4 but it's all basic stuff and he doesn't hunt anymore so he's no help..haha. But these are the weapons I have been looking at purchasing within the next month or so and wanted to get some honest opinions on them. I will give the list and uses next to them. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Howa Talon Varmiter .223. Coyote and bobcat possible deer

Henry U.S. Survival rifle. Exactly what it's meant for survival

Remington Model 770 .300 win mag. Deer/elk

Mossberg 500 12g Home protection and clay shooting hunting

S&W MP9 9mm. Target shooting home protection

For my wife

Remington 870 20g home protection clay shooting bird hunting

Taurus TCP .380

Any input on these choices are great budget is mediocre so nothing too expensive like 650 700 is my limit on long guns and 200 500 on pistols
Old 02-24-2012, 07:28 PM
Fork Horn

Nice list!
my list is WAY to long.
Old 02-24-2012, 08:11 PM
Super Moderator

I don't like the Remington 770. Look for a used 700, or the savage/stevens line. The 770 is not Remington's shining star. It feels cheap, and I've read bad reviews on them. For the $$$ there are better options.
-Jake
Old 02-25-2012, 01:47 AM
Nontypical Buck

Originally Posted by Bocajnala
I don't like the Remington 770. Look for a used 700, or the savage/stevens line. The 770 is not Remington's shining star. It feels cheap, and I've read bad reviews on them. For the $$$ there are better options.
-Jake
+1, Agree. There are so many better options.
Old 02-25-2012, 05:48 AM
Nontypical Buck

Just a few thoughts for you...