HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Guns (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/guns-10/)
-   -   Hunting in the rain. (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/guns/352722-hunting-rain.html)

Ruger-Redhawk 11-04-2011 02:31 PM

Hunting in the rain.

I’ve been a member here for several years. Granted I don’t stop in very often. If this has been covered I apologize for repeating it.

I’ve hunted for many years like everyone else in the rain at times. I’m fairly new to hunting where it snows. I’m an old Florida boy. How much affect does a rain drop or say snow have on the travel of the projectile? We all know wind can and will drift it off. Hitting a small twig. I just wonder how much a rain drop does or snow for that matter. I’ve killed several deer in the rain usually at a short distance. I missed a fairly long shot once in heavy rain. The scope was wet and I put the blame there. I’m sure the heavier the projectile the less it’s affected. I know there isn’t anything we can do about Mother Nature just go with the flow. I just wonder what everybody’s experience is hunting in the rain.

Big Z 11-04-2011 06:53 PM

If it makes a difference, I haven't shot far enough in the snow to see it happen. Not something I worry about.

DAX 11-04-2011 07:02 PM

I love hunting in a light rain.. keeps away my scent and they never hear me coming

Nomercy448 11-05-2011 03:50 PM

Usually, all I do for rainy days is factor in the relative humidity and temperature effects, plus the wind dope, then add in some "fudge factor, and pray for luck.

We know the bullet will be less stable, and will slow down faster (drop more) than it would on a clear day, so I plan my shots accordingly.

But hey, let's run with it for a second...

From a physical standpoint, the estimation of the effect of a given rain storm or snowstorm is exhaustive beyond what we're capable of doing "off the cuff" in the field.