Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
Down to 2 Choice help me pick >

Down to 2 Choice help me pick

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Down to 2 Choice help me pick

Old 07-14-2011, 11:30 AM
Spike

Default Down to 2 Choice help me pick

Ok so I've narrowed my few month search down to 2 riffles. Just not sure which route I want to go, and I am sure this is going to be just like the Ford vs. Chevy battle, but here it goes. I have chosen a 30.06 caliber and a Leupold VX II 3-9 x50 scope. So here are my riffle choices. Either or will be purchased from the BX on base so no taxes to save a little cash. Scope will be mounted and bore sighted for free or so they say. I don't want money to be the decieding factor either. Also since I am new to riffles can someone tell me the main difference in the blue finsh or the stainless finish besides the obvious color of the barrel.

Browing X-Bolt Composite Stalker(blue hinish) $704
Remington Model 700 SPS (blue finish) $620 ish

Thanks for you input.

Also I was just wondering if there are any scope mounts that are better than others, or would the Leuplod scope mounts be just fine?

Last edited by cntryislandboy; 07-14-2011 at 11:35 AM. Reason: add a question
Old 07-14-2011, 12:00 PM
Giant Nontypical

I think Talley Mounts are pretty awesome. I use to use leupold mounts.

Spend as much as you can on a quality scope, personally I'm not crazy about leupold's vx-3 let alone the vx-II, the vx-6 has me curious though, but that's gonna be a step up in price. I like my zeiss conquests much more than any of my leupolds.

Browning would be my vote. Although I'm not strongly swayed one way or the other.
Old 07-14-2011, 12:25 PM
Nontypical Buck