Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
new to rifle hunting >

new to rifle hunting

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

new to rifle hunting

Old 06-12-2011, 11:41 AM
Spike

Default new to rifle hunting

Hi, I'm new to rifle hunting since the local WDNR changed my zone from shotgun to rifle. I am looking for a good deer rifle barrel for my TC Pro Hunter. I am considering buying a 7mm. However, I am wondering what the difference is between a 7mm or a 7mm-08? Or, would you suggest a different barrel? Your comments will be appreciated. Thank you.
Old 06-12-2011, 12:06 PM
Typical Buck

You will likely get 200000000000000000000000000 different responses to this question. It's more important to get what you want. There are several things to consider, recoil, ammo availability, accuracy, and so on.

I have a 7mm in a Rem 700 BDL and honestly haven't hunted with it, my brother used it for a few years but I have never hunted with it. I really didn't find it enjoyable to hunt with (recoil-wise) and there is limited bullet availability in the 7mm (.284) cal. That being said, the recoil isn't that terrible, just more than I really like. If bullet options are something that concerns you I'd look elsewhere. I have never shot a 7mm-08 but have always wanted one, have heard great things about them and they have less recoil but are still the same cal (.284) so again limited bullet availability.

I prefer the .308 and the .270 cal's myself for deer hunting and mostly use a .270 win or a 270 WSM for the past several years. Highly accurate, reasonable recoil, better bullet availability than the 7mm (more factory ammo options as well in most stores and the .270 Win ammo is cheaper than 7mm...while the 270 WSM ammo is as spendy as the 7mm).