Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
AR for defense >

AR for defense

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

AR for defense

Old 05-06-2011, 09:01 PM
Nontypical Buck

Originally Posted by Palladin8
the DA would have no problem convicting you on murder charges if you were to shoot someone on your property that was at a distance over say 7yds. That is the legal distance where shooting someone in self defense is justifiable. Anything over that and you are looking like you were intentionally out for blood.
That is so freaking funny!!

Nothing wrong with having an AR15. If the SHTF, it would be a great gun to have but it is probably a little to much to stop someone from stealing your stuff.
Old 05-07-2011, 04:50 AM
Fork Horn

The laws vary so much by state, let alone the cities, you need to check into the laws for state and city. May look in the hometown forums on ar15.com. I'm still learning the laws here in colorado, but in Oklahoma, there isnt a 7yd rule or anything of the such. You have to be aproached by leathal force, overwhelming odds(10 guys lets say), or someone known to be convicted of a violent offense(IIRC) to be ok to use lethal force. Still isnt cut and dry, as an over zealous DA will still try to make a name for himself. Out in the liberal northeast, I would go with the assumption they are like canada, no rights to protect yourself, just dial the 911 dial a prayer hotline and hope.
Now I await my stalker to come attack me....
Old 05-07-2011, 06:47 PM
Nontypical Buck

Some of you guys should stop before you type, and remember that someone relying on your advice could very well be killed by it.
Seriously, some of this advice is beyond ridiculous.
Old 05-08-2011, 04:12 AM
Typical Buck