Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
first time rifle owner >

first time rifle owner

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

first time rifle owner

Old 04-17-2011, 10:59 AM
Spike

Default first time rifle owner

I'm new to gun ownership, just bought my first rifle this weekend. It's a remington 700 .270 WSM with a Nikon Prostaff scope. I bought it from a private party and can't wait to try it. Any suggestions or tips on learning how to shoot it safely. I'm in Rochester area. THANKS!!!!
Attached Thumbnails first time rifle owner-270-wsm.jpg  

Last edited by KevinNY; 04-17-2011 at 11:17 AM. Reason: add picture
Old 04-17-2011, 12:17 PM
Giant Nontypical

awesome choice!

safely? treat it like it's always loaded, whenever you handle it, check to see whether it's loaded or not, everytime!

have fun!
Old 04-17-2011, 04:23 PM
Nontypical Buck

Get yourself good hearing protection. Try different brands of ammo. Rifles have an accuracy preference for specific loads. The fun part is finding out what those loads are. Also, invest in a good cleaning kit.
Old 04-17-2011, 04:30 PM
Nontypical Buck

Take a hunters safety course ASAP,you'll get alot valuable info on gun safety.
Old 04-17-2011, 05:17 PM
Spike

Thanks very much for all your help! I am new to this and really want to learn how to shoot! Thanks!!!!
Old 04-17-2011, 05:26 PM
Spike

A gun and hunting safety course is a must for the newbies; welcome to the sport!
Old 04-18-2011, 07:57 AM
Fork Horn

Great choice! And take the hunters safety course because if you go hunting you'll need it to get licenses. To be safe just don't ever point it at anything you don't want to shoot, don't load it until you're ready to shoot and you'll be okay.

(I just bought a 700 SPS Buckmasters .270 and it shoots cloverleaf groups and is a super nice rifle).
Old 04-18-2011, 02:40 PM
Spike