HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Guns (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/guns-10/)
-   -   Looking for Handgun (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/guns/342991-looking-handgun.html)

btnovotny 04-04-2011 11:22 AM

Looking for Handgun

I am new to the handgun world and would like to start with a .22 pistol of some sort because it's really cheap to shoot. I will eventually get a 40 or 45. So my question is what should this beginner get ?

salukipv1 04-04-2011 11:56 AM

I'd just start with a 9mm

scottycoyote 04-04-2011 12:43 PM

do you want a gun thats going to be similar to the 40 you get down the road, like a practice gun? or do you just want a nice 22. If you just want a nice 22 id recommend a browning buckmark.

Bible_Man 04-04-2011 02:34 PM

Originally Posted by scottycoyote (Post 3794932)
do you want a gun thats going to be similar to the 40 you get down the road, like a practice gun? or do you just want a nice 22. If you just want a nice 22 id recommend a browning buckmark.

That's a good point. A Buckmark is a great target pistol and you can plink all day without burning through a ton of cash. But, if you want something that is going to be similar in form to what you will eventually get, then the Buckmark, or another similar target .22 is not the way to go. There are endless options when it comes to .22 pistols. All the way from a derringer (don't even think about it!) to a 1911 style. The Sig Mosquito is a decent option if you are looking for something closer to a full size semi-auto pistol.

Or, if you are going the .45 route, I'd definitely suggest the 1911 format, and you can find plenty of moderately priced .22's in that field.

Blackelk 04-05-2011 04:07 AM