Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
Ammo for my 12ga H&R Ultra Slug Hunter Lightweight >

Ammo for my 12ga H&R Ultra Slug Hunter Lightweight

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Ammo for my 12ga H&R Ultra Slug Hunter Lightweight

Old 10-29-2010, 06:16 AM
Spike

Default Ammo for my 12ga H&R Ultra Slug Hunter Lightweight

Hello.
Let me start of by saying this site and forums are great. I stumbled on this site yesterday and love the amount of information and knowledgeable people here. I am a newb when it comes to slug guns and deer hunting as I have only gone out twice in my life. I would like some input from the more experienced then myself and found the perfect place. I bought the 12ga H&R USH Lightweight and had it mounted with the Nikon Prostaff 2-7x32.
I want to take it out to the range and get it zeroed in and would like to know what ammo I should try out. I will be hunting deer in Southern Illinois Nov. 19-21. I don't expect to take any shots further then 100 yards. When zeroing in what distance should should I be? Also can anyone point me to some good websites to buy ammo? All my life I have been shooting off rounds payed for by Uncle Sam or my dad and was clueless as to how much ammo costs. Ouch! Thanks and happy hunting to you all.
Dave
Old 10-29-2010, 07:13 AM
Nontypical Buck

You'll just have to try a few different loads and see which your gun prefers.I sighted my slug gun in dead on at 75yds.Good luck!
Old 10-29-2010, 09:04 AM
Nontypical Buck

As Bernie said try different brands, my friend's H&R 12ga. likes the Hornady SSTs, others like the Lightfield EXPs and the Remington Buckhammers, sight-in to be 2.5" high at 50 yards
Old 11-02-2010, 08:49 PM
Nontypical Buck