Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
Switched bullets and why? >

Switched bullets and why?

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Switched bullets and why?

Old 10-06-2010, 04:41 AM
Typical Buck

Default Switched bullets and why?

I'm curious of how many hunters and target shooters have switched from their long time previous bullets to new bullets that have came out in the last decade or so?

What was the reason behind leaving your old trusty bullet behind for a new bullet?

How has the performance been in the new bullet vs the old?

Anyone regret having switched in a hunting situation that has gone bad?

I have been shooting the same bullet for the past 25 years and have never switched in my big game rifles. I'm very interested in what makes a man switch bullets if the one he has works and has been working fine for decades.
Old 10-06-2010, 05:34 AM
Typical Buck

I switched years ago but not from "trusty" old bullets. I was using Winchester Silvertips and they would not go through a dear. They would break up and stop at the hide on the far side. So I switched to Federal Premiums with Nosler partition bullets. Now I get a nice through and through shot.
Old 10-06-2010, 06:28 AM
Banned

Originally Posted by ADVWannabee
I switched years ago but not from "trusty" old bullets. I was using Winchester Silvertips and they would not go through a dear. They would break up and stop at the hide on the far side. So I switched to Federal Premiums with Nosler partition bullets. Now I get a nice through and through shot.
I'm confused by two things, why you would use Silvertips and why you would think that you need premium bullets to kill a whitetail deer.

The object of killing a deer is to find a bullet that retains as much of its core as possible. The tip of the bullet burns off in flight, especially if it is one of these new polymer tipped bullets.