HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Guns (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/guns-10/)
-   -   Leupold,New or Old (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/guns/33111-leupold-new-old.html)

Broken Scope 07-11-2003 09:28 PM

Leupold,New or Old

I bought three new leupold scopes and was wondering if there was a way to make sure I got the newer versions.I got a vari x III 6.5 x 20 and two x ll 3x9s. Thanks

mauser06 07-11-2003 09:31 PM

RE: Leupold,New or Old

im no expert but i think they quit making vari x' s and make a vx now........but i may be wrong.....either way a leupolds a leupold......good luck........i may be wrong....chances are i am.....but i think thats what i may have heard lol.....

MBuckH72 07-11-2003 09:40 PM

The vari-x 3 is a new scope, but the 3-9 could be recent. Best way to tell if the 3-9 is the new model or the old model is to turn the cross hair adjustments....If it clicks, its the newer model (this year), if it doesn' t click, it' s the older model (last year or older)

eldeguello 07-12-2003 01:16 PM

Record the serial numbers, then ask Leupold when they were made!! I suspect they' d tell you. Vari-X III' s are NOT a recent arrival! I have a 2.5X-8X Vari-X III that I bought in 1976 for a Ruger No. 1V .25/' 06 " Liberty Model" , which I bought the same day I bought the scope. However, they did change the adjustments from the " friction lock" type to the " click" type later, but not this year! It was at least five or more years ago when that change was made.

soarkrebel 07-13-2003 11:24 PM

The vari x III line didnt change it' s name. the vari x II' s did.
They are referred to as vx1' s and vx II' s.
I have a vari x II and vxII 3x9x50 and the differences are that the vxII has click adjustments.
I wouldnt worry about getting the newer version they are great scopes old and new.

oldelkhunter 07-14-2003 07:05 AM