Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

first gun

Old 10-01-2010, 01:28 PM
Spike

Default first gun

Hi, I am an avid fisherman but I have no experience in hunting or fire arms. I would like to do some deer hunting here in Florida so I am in need of a rifle I have about $500 to spend can I get a reliable rifle for that price? what would you recommend?
Old 10-01-2010, 01:48 PM
Nontypical Buck

You can get a great rifle for that price. My suggestion would be the Savage Model 10 or 110 depending on if you want a caliber that's in a long action or short action. They run between $387 and 397 at Walmart depending on which one you go to. They have the famous accu trigger and even come with a Simmons scope as well as a sling. It's just a great all around rifle. The scopes serviceable, but not the best, but it should work fine. It's really a great gun, and that would leave you $100 left over. In a couple of years you may or may not want to replace the scope with something a little better depending on how you like the scope on it. I know lots of guys that never replace them and never have issues, but others like me like nicer scopes. If you ever do change the scope, I'd change the rings too.

The next choice I'd look at is the Marlin XL-7 for the long actions and XS-7 for the short actions. These have a trigger similar to the accu trigger, and seem to be getting really good reviews. You can often find these for around $300, but they don't come with a scope so you would have to add a scope. You could go with a Burris FFII or Vortex Viper and still be in your budget.