Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
AR 15 light primer hits. why? >

AR 15 light primer hits. why?

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

AR 15 light primer hits. why?

Old 08-08-2010, 06:59 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default AR 15 light primer hits. why?

My handloads didnt give me much trouble last time. I was shooting factory federal ammo today, and 10 out of 50 rounds wouldnt go off, a few went off when I loaded them in the gun again, a few didnt. The gun was cleaned and lubed after I shot it last, a few weeks ago. Im new to ARs, whats the usual reason for this? Thanks.
Old 08-08-2010, 09:14 PM
Nontypical Buck

If the cleaning doesn't need to be more thorough, you may need new springs, and check pin protrusion too.
Old 08-09-2010, 05:40 AM
Nontypical Buck

When you say that your handloads "didn't give me much trouble", I assume that you hand some handloads that also failed to fire? If so, then it is a gun problem, not ammo. problem for sure. If you've cleaned the gun well enough to know that's not the problem, then it comes to springs needing replaced, IMO.
Old 08-09-2010, 08:46 AM
Nontypical Buck

The gun is new , should I change the hammer spring anyway?
Old 08-09-2010, 10:28 AM
Nontypical Buck

You didn't actually SAY whether the primer strikes were light or not, i.e. the pin impressions were shallow in the primers. You described the gun condition well, but you didn't really hit on the measurable aspects to help diagnose the problem, so here's how I'd troubleshoot your problem.

In the event of multiple miss-fires, I check things out in this order:

Ammo:
Shallow pin strikes?
Military spec primers?
Deep set primers?