Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
Ruger American Inaccurate? >

Ruger American Inaccurate?

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Ruger American Inaccurate?

Old 07-14-2014, 12:20 PM
Spike

Default Ruger American Inaccurate?

Hi,
I'm new to scoped rifles and I recently purchased a new Ruger American Rifle with a used scope mounted for $700 out the door.

I've been shooting with iron sights with no problems ever. With the scope I could not adjust the windage enough to bring the scope to my grouping.

I took it to the dealer and he took it out shooting and said that when the barrel gets hot, it's off the paper at 100 yards.

I'm somewhat disappointed that I shelled out that much cash for a $400 rifle with a used scope. Does anyone have any advice? Is there any hope to "save" this rifle? How can I find out if it's the scope that's messed up or if the barrel is jacked?

I appreciate any words of wisdom.
Thanks
Old 07-14-2014, 01:08 PM
Giant Nontypical

Hi,
'm new to scoped rifles and I recently purchased a new Ruger American Rifle with a used scope mounted for $700 out the door.

I've been shooting with iron sights with no problems ever. With the scope I could not adjust the windage enough to bring the scope to my grouping.

I took it to the dealer and he took it out shooting and said that when the barrel gets hot, it's off the paper at 100 yards.

I'm somewhat disappointed that I shelled out that much cash for a $400 rifle with a used scope. Does anyone have any advice? Is there any hope to "save" this rifle? How can I find out if it's the scope that's messed up or if the barrel is jacked?

***Very simple solution! Put another scope on it and see what it does. It shouldn't take much to see that the scope or possibly the mounts/rings were the problem if it's a brand new rifle.

Last edited by Topgun 3006; 07-14-2014 at 01:11 PM.
Old 07-14-2014, 01:13 PM
Nontypical Buck