Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
Advice for first handgun purchase. >

Advice for first handgun purchase.

Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Advice for first handgun purchase.

Old 03-25-2010, 01:59 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default Advice for first handgun purchase.

i understand that everyone has their preference for make. i am bout to turn 21 here in the next few months and was looking for a 9mm. semi auto. i have hunted deer all my life, so shotguns and rifles i am very familiar with. i however have a .357 smith and wesson handgun i inherited from my dad after he died. i have alot of experiance handling handguns, and know how to fire them, but most of my experiance shootin the handguns is revolvers. so im here asking you experts what you have experiance with and truly enjoy to have and shoot. i am a college student about to graduate next semester, but because i am still in college i dont have a very large budget. i appreciate any and all advice guys and ladies
Old 03-25-2010, 02:35 PM
Giant Nontypical

Might consider a .40

You could probably deer hunt with the .357 you've got, not that you ever will, but I think you need a revolver with a 3" or 4" barrel, with a minimum caliber/diameter, as well maybe a minimum energy level, think the .357 qualifies though, only thing would be if that barrel was long enough.

I think a .40 would be my choice for a cartridge with no other circumstances in a semi-auto.

If you have a wife who wants to shoot it, or a kid, or it's a compact model, etc...the 9mm might make more sense.
Old 03-25-2010, 05:23 PM
Nontypical Buck

Originally Posted by salukipv1
Might consider a .40