HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Guns (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/guns-10/)
-   -   need rifle purchase advice please (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/guns/317883-need-rifle-purchase-advice-please.html)

dischNoutTAspd 02-21-2010 02:29 PM

need rifle purchase advice please

I am by no means a newbie when it comes to rifles . I've been hunting for about ten years , and I am prepared to make my first serious rifle purchase. I've been borrowing rifles and using diff. guns for ten years , but am ready to make my first real rifle purchase. I have been doing research for about six months on what to buy and am seriously eying the Tikka T3 prob in .308 . I own one other rifle, and its the (terrible ) Remington 770 .270. Basically before I make a 600$ rifle purchase , id like to hear from experienced users if the Tikka is worth my while, or if there is something Im over looking. I really like the accuracy pitch, the free floating barrel, and the great trigger along with an amazing smooth bolt. I've held one in my hands I just want to know if im getting my money's worth. My budget (including a new scope is 1000$) . sorry for the long thread.. just need advice.

MO-KS_hunter 02-21-2010 03:31 PM

I don't know from personal experience but I've done a little research on the Tikka T3 rifle and it seems to be a pretty solid gun for the price.

The first rifle I purchased was a Ruger M77 Mk II in .270 caliber topped with a Leupold Vari-X II 3-9x40 scope. I paid $399 bucks for the rifle (on sales at Dicks) and recieved the scope as a Christmas present (it retailed for $220 at the time). It was an excellent rifle and I killed a couple dozen deer with it. The only complaint I had was it's trigger which I fixed with an aftermarket job. The new Ruger M77 hawkeye apparently has a much better trigger than the Mk II version.