Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
building a custom rifle >

building a custom rifle

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

building a custom rifle

Old 01-07-2010, 06:46 AM
Spike

Default building a custom rifle

Hey Guys. I have a few quick questions. I'm building a custom rifle on a mauser action. How much will a gunsmith charge me to resize my action to make it feed a different caliber? And what do i do about a a magazine. I want a simple internal magazine, if i have a mauser action what else will i need, if anything? The caliber im going with is the good ol 30'06 incase that helps with anything. Thanks im new to this custom rifle stuff so bear with me
Old 01-07-2010, 10:01 AM
Nontypical Buck

Originally Posted by bradc
How much will a gunsmith charge me to resize my action to make it feed a different caliber?
I'm confused what's it chambered for right now?
Old 01-07-2010, 02:01 PM
Fork Horn

some smiths will re size the bolt face free as apart blue printing. if your not familiar to that its just a "trueing up" of the action. i had a remington 700 blue printed by prarie gun works for a tube gun. the rifle itself didnt turn out well but that was more my fault then the smiths. i think it was around $450 but that was back in 2003
Old 01-07-2010, 05:30 PM
Boone & Crockett

If it is/was chambered for a typical 7mm mauser or 8mm mauser then you shouldn't have to do anything except rebarrel the gun to turn it into a 30-06.

If you just want a simple internal blind magazine then that is just a matter of cutting the mag box off of the hinged floor plate and inletting a stock to fit. But I would leave the hinged floor plate on the gun and modify it so that it is released by a push button or lever rather than having to depress the hidden button with the tip of a bullet.
Old 01-07-2010, 07:22 PM
Fork Horn