Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
Ar rifles and keeping zero. >

Ar rifles and keeping zero.

Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Ar rifles and keeping zero.

Old 12-22-2009, 12:39 PM
  #1  
Giant Nontypical
Thread Starter
 
bigtim6656's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 6,867
Default Ar rifles and keeping zero.

I got a question guys. I am going t get another ar rifle been wanting a 308 cal since I sold the two 5.56s I had a few years ago. I want it setup for both long range target shooting and short range target shooting. Plus I want a good hunting rifle out of it. I am thinking a good scope some where around 400 bucks. One thing that worries me is when I shoot the rifle and break it down to clean it. If I take out the pins to remove the upper from the lower reciever will it lose zero on the scope? Or is this not a issue? We had alot of trouble keeping the zero on our red dote sight on the bushmaster 5.56. I think part of that issue was me and my dad shooting it and both zeroing the sight.
bigtim6656 is offline  
Old 12-22-2009, 04:08 PM
  #2  
Nontypical Buck
 
13pointjomc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NE Alabama
Posts: 1,060
Default

shoot it n see if its still 0ed in,if it aint,fix it!
13pointjomc is offline  
Old 12-22-2009, 04:49 PM
  #3  
Nontypical Buck
 
driftrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Coralville, IA. USA
Posts: 3,802
Default

The only way I can see this being a problem is if there is slop between the upper and lower causeing the upper to move different with each shot. This is a very common problem with the M-16A2's I was issued in the Corps. Most of these rifles were better than a decade old and had been fired tens of thousands of time and had the crap beat out of them. My last M-16 had enough slop that the muzzle could move 1/4" in any direction with the lower fixed. Not the most accurate rifle, either.

New commercial AR's are going to be much tighter than a rode hard and put away wet M-16, and if there is any slop, they make a little wedge shim that goes under the buffer to tighten things up. There are also adjustable action pins that will do the same thing available. You probably won't need them, though.

Mike
driftrider is offline  

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.