Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
Getting a gun >

Getting a gun

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Getting a gun

Old 12-17-2009, 09:15 AM
Nontypical Buck

Originally Posted by crm7290
Actually I get resident rates because I showed proof that I was a college student living there for more than 60 days. That was enough for proof of residency for my fishing license, just brought a bill from the school in. With my name being in the system for my fishing license I'll be ok getting residency status. It's a loop hole I guess.

And I shoot skeet with my girlfriends dad off their back porch all summer so I'll be needing it for skeet, possibly waterfoull depending on friends. I could have gone but didn't have a gun and they only brought one each down.

I been looking at 870s while I've been home. Gonna take your other suggestions and look at those. Since I'm right in cook county, seeing Chicago out my window, there is not too much for guns out here. I can probbly head out to Cabelas and look there. I know they have good deals on guns sometimes.
WhileI've bought a couple guns at Cabelas when I had credit card points and special offers, they rarely have a good price. Better off finding a Walmart that carries guns, or exploring some shops outside Chicago metro area.
Old 12-17-2009, 09:19 AM
Typical Buck

Remington 870. Best bang for the buck. litterally.
Old 12-17-2009, 12:40 PM
Nontypical Buck

Originally Posted by crm7290
I know Illinois deer is slug only, or bow and muzzle loader. What about Minnesota? I know I can look at the regs but there's the chance you guys can fill me in right off the bat. Would I be able to use the shotgun to hunt in Minnesota?
It depends on where you're at in the state. Minnesota has a shotgun zone and a centerfire rifle zone. The shotgun zone is the southern half of the state. In the northern zone all firearms are legal (seasonal restrictions only).