Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
I need a gun and on a budget for deer hunting >

I need a gun and on a budget for deer hunting

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

I need a gun and on a budget for deer hunting

Old 09-04-2009, 09:27 AM
Spike

Default I need a gun and on a budget for deer hunting

ok so I am new to hunting and this will be my fist year deer hunting

I already have a remington 870 shot gun. so I could just get a slug barrel but my cousin has one and he says it is very inaccurate (mosberg riffled scoped combo) and hes tried different slugs

so I think I will be better off getting a riffle
any suggestions

what caliber do I need my grandpa was saying I need a 30-06 but It seams that other people use smaller ammo

I was thinking remington 770 (cabellas has a scope combo 30-06 for $359 after rebate) I know its has some bad reviews but the people that own then seam to like them. and I would only use it to get a dear a year and make sure it sighted in thats all the shooting It would do.

thats my thoughts what do you guys think
Old 09-04-2009, 09:45 AM
Nontypical Buck

IMO the remington 700 is all the rifle anyone could ever ask for, but the 770 must be the red headed step child of economy guns for a reason. I know the bolt is pretty rough and they are ugly as...(if that matters) Personally I would just stuff the 870 w/ cheap foster(rifled) or brennekee slugs, mod or IC choke and take 50 yd or less shots. Id save up and buy a good rifle and scope ,cause you will save more $ buying a good gun 1st, instead of buying crap, then quality ,which is ultimately what most hunters wind up doing. If you really must buy a cheapo, I would go w/ a marlin XL7 or marlin 336, savage 11/111, 0r an NEF handi rifle. 3006 is great but you can dump deer w/ much less. any of those w/ a bushnell trophy(not great but good and tough scope) would serve you well, and for about 400+tax NIB