HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Guns (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/guns-10/)
-   -   problem with scope/gun/me? Need advice... (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/guns/296326-problem-scope-gun-me-need-advice.html)

soulless 06-19-2009 10:46 PM

problem with scope/gun/me? Need advice...

Yes, I'm still a noob. Here is my problem. I trashed my original target so i drew one similiar to it. I own 2 Savage 93R17's. One BTVS and one in standard barrel. Both with accutrigger. Sighted both using hornady VMAX. Super accurate.

I figured shooting the CCI 20grain FMJ will just change the point of impact slightly lower since the buller is heavier. Instead it hit upper right. Shot it with both guns and about the same result. Loaded some VMAX and bullseye. BOTH sighted at 25yds. everytime. WTF? I used Hornady's trajectory calculator and i expected to see around the same results, but i was surprised...I'm gonna try to sight @ 25yd using the FMJ and then load both guns with the VMAX rounds and see what happens..

Scopes: Bushnell trophy 3-9-40, Tasco 4-14-40 1.5" from center of scope to top of barrel.

HEAD0001 06-20-2009 01:22 AM

RE: problem with scope/gun/me? Need advice...

No need to get excited about POI differences with different ammo. And there is definitely no way of knowing what load will hit high or low--until you shoot it. Faster loads can shoot higher or lower, and the reason has more to do with the shooter, than the ammo. Heck I have watched different people shot the same ammo to different POI's.

Barrel length, barrel weight, and recoli have a lot to do with POI. As well as individual shooting habits. In a lot of firearms a faster bullet will hit lower because it spends less time in the barrel, so the rifle is unable to recoil as high as the slower load.