Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 I need some help here.... >

I need some help here....

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

I need some help here....

Old 08-11-2008, 02:00 AM

Default I need some help here....

Hello everyone,
I am just getting into shooting and I was wondering if i can have some help picking out my first shotgun.
I have been thinking about getting into trap shootings and maybe just going to the range and firing off a few. Nothing to crazy, but i do wanna get into trap a little bit. I was just wondering what a good all aroun gun would be. Do i need a semi or is pump ok? I was looking at either the 11-87 super mag synthetic or the 870 shurshot turkey gun i dont kno to much about them. Thanks
Old 08-11-2008, 03:53 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: I need some help here....

Whatever form of shotgun you ultimately pick, the most important factor is that it fits you. When you bring it up to your face, the bead should be lined up and you are looking where the gun shoots. If you have to shift your head position to line up the bead at all, you'll struggle to shoot it well.
That being said, I'd recommend a 26" barrel as a good all around barrel length.
Old 08-11-2008, 08:24 AM
Fork Horn

Stay away from the 11-87 supermag!!!! The 3" 11-87's are still decent guns but the supermag is garbage!!!!
Old 08-11-2008, 12:18 PM
Fork Horn

If your going to shoot trap the 870 works out nice. Most serious trap shooters use a 30" barrel. If your going to use it for hunting and trap, I would go with the 28" barrel. If your going to someday get into Sporting Clays, I would look into a semi-auto, like the 11-87, Benelli, Beretta, Franchi, all depends on your personal budget. As listed above, a good fit is important along with a good recoil pad.
Old 08-11-2008, 11:01 PM
Nontypical Buck