Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 Shotgun Help >

Shotgun Help

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

Shotgun Help

Old 07-20-2008, 11:39 AM

Default Shotgun Help

I am a newbie to hunting so i just got my first shotgun. I ordered the mossberg 835 tactical turkey. The only reason i ordered this gun was because of the stock. I broke my wrist years back and i am kinda limited to range of motion in my wirst but this gun was really comfortable to hold. Anyhow with that being said, the gun came with a 20" barrel. What barrel should i get for duck hunting? Also i would like to deer hunt. Any suggestions for a barrel for that would be great also. Thanks in advance and sorry for the long post.
Old 07-20-2008, 01:27 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Shotgun Help

For deer hunting, get yourself the rifled/cantilever barrel they make for this shotgun and use slugs of course. Make sure you use 3" if not 3.5" shells when using slugs in any shotgun chambered for the 3.5" shells
Old 07-20-2008, 03:13 PM
Nontypical Buck

For the duck hunting just get you one of their 26"-28" barrels with interchangeable chokes. For slugs look at the rifle/cantilever barrel as mentioned above, but I would recommend shooting the 2-3/4" shells. They are generally more accurate than the 3".
Old 07-20-2008, 04:19 PM
Nontypical Buck

ORIGINAL: Hurricanespg

For the duck hunting just get you one of their 26"-28" barrels with interchangeable chokes. For slugs look at the rifle/cantilever barrel as mentioned above, but I would recommend shooting the 2-3/4" shells. They are generally more accurate than the 3".
You should never use 2-3/4" shells when using slugs in a shotgun that is chambered for shells up to 3.5". Here is the information I got from the LIGHTFIELD SLUG WEB PAGE:

Q:
Why can't I shoot 2-3/4" slugs through my 3-1/2" chambered slug gun?

A: