HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Guns (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/guns-10/)
-   -   Is a 22'' Vent Rib O.K. for Waterfowling? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/guns/249020-22-vent-rib-o-k-waterfowling.html)

chrowski 06-11-2008 08:38 AM

Is a 22'' Vent Rib O.K. for Waterfowling?

Hey all,
I'm looking into buying my first gun, so if my terms suggest I'm a novice, that'd be correct. I'm looking at buying a lower priced 12ga. that has interchangable barrels so I can go for birds or deer without buying an entire new gun. My prospective choice of gun is the Mossberg "535 ATS™ All-Terrain Shotgun" It comes with a 24'' rifled for deer, no problem there, as well as a 22'' vent rib barrel.

That's where my question comes in. It states the 22'' vent rib barrel is forturkey, but I'm not really interested inTurkey hunting. I'mmore interested in waterfowling.Has/Does anyone use a 22'' vent rib for waterfowl? Why or why not would this be appropriate? What would my preformance issues be compared to a waterfowling gun barrel?

Thanks in advance!!

oldelkhunter 06-11-2008 08:48 AM

RE: Is a 22'' Vent Rib O.K. for Waterfowling?

Longer barrel definitely helps your swing..Your not using the barrel rib as a sight plane .For waterfowl I would be much more comfortable with a 28" barrel

eldeguello 06-11-2008 08:56 AM

ORIGINAL: chrowski

Hey all,
I'm looking into buying my first gun, so if my terms suggest I'm a novice, that'd be correct. I'm looking at buying a lower priced 12ga. that has interchangable barrels so I can go for birds or deer without buying an entire new gun. My prospective choice of gun is the Mossberg "535 ATS™ All-Terrain Shotgun" It comes with a 24'' rifled for deer, no problem there, as well as a 22'' vent rib barrel.