HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Guns (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/guns-10/)
-   -   affordable ammo [lol] (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/guns/232611-affordable-ammo-lol.html)

balde 02-15-2008 08:11 AM

affordable ammo [lol]

i really enjoy shooting, but with prices for ammo, im gonna have to get a sencond job! if i wanna shoot my slug gun it will cost bout $100 per30 shoots! for my 30-06 and my 30-30, its a dollar a shot with taxes!
looked into reloading a bitand it doesnt look much cheaper!
where or how can i get good ammo and still pay the bills!!
i got the fever but cant afford the cure!!

kirby375 02-15-2008 08:26 AM

RE: affordable ammo [lol]

The initial cost of getting in to reloading can be high, but it doesn't have to be. You can get a Lee loading set up pretty reasonably. Or shop the gun shows for used stuff. I have been reloading for quite a few years, and most of the equipment I have was purchased used. You can still get reloading stuff on ebay as well. I have gotten into casting bullets the last couple of years as well, which further defrays the cost of shooting, and besides, it's fun. For the '06, there is always surplus ammo for target practice as well. Where there is a will there is a way.

retrieverman 02-15-2008 08:34 AM

ORIGINAL: balde

looked into reloading a bitand it doesnt look much cheaper!

I said the same thing about reloading until I got into it, and my cost per shot is CONSIDERABLY lower than factory ammo. As an example, I was shooting Win Supreme Accubonds in my 270 at about $1.75/shot, and I can reload them for under 50 cents each. As another example, factory 9.3x62 ammo sells for between $45 and $80 per box, and I am reloading for it using "premium" bullets for $16 per box. I am loading plinking/hog hunting ammo for $9 per box.

If you want to shoot, reloading is the way to go, but I absolutely DO NOT "save" any money though because I shoot so much more than I used to.