Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 trouble pumping a pump action shotgun >

trouble pumping a pump action shotgun

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

trouble pumping a pump action shotgun

Old 08-05-2007, 05:18 PM

Default trouble pumping a pump action shotgun

Okay I am new to the hunting world and never had anyone to show me the way. (im 18 by the way)

So while this question seems retarded, take it easy on me.

Today in bass pro I was handling some shotguns looking for my first shotgun.

I want a pump action remington 870.

However, I was having a probably with every gun I picked up, no matter the make or model. When pumping it, what is the little notch you hold in on the side that allows the pump to slide down? Every gun I could not seem to reach this without taking the gun down from a shooting stance. Is this because of the trigger lock on it or am i doing something wrong?

How do you hold the notch down when you chamber a round. Which finger?

Really stupid, i know.

Thanks for the help!
Old 08-05-2007, 05:55 PM
Banned

Default [Deleted]

[Deleted by Admins]
Old 08-05-2007, 05:55 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: trouble pumping a pump action shotgun

On a pump gun, after you squeeze off a shot, the slide automatically unlocks and allows you to cycle the action without needing to press the release button.

Normally that button is used only to unload the gun and open the action.
Old 08-05-2007, 05:59 PM
Fork Horn

That release on the side is for unloading and loading the gun. Once you pull the trigger or fire a shellthen you can pump the action without touching the side action release. Any pump action shotgun is that way far as I know. I have the Remington 870 and that is how my gun works.
Old 08-05-2007, 06:40 PM
Nontypical Buck