Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

First Gun

Old 06-02-2007, 03:18 PM

Default First Gun

I am new to hunting, and I was wondering people's opinions on the best first hunting gun to get. I am going to be hunting whitetail in the Fall, and I was wondering what you all think the best gun is for the job? (caliber, brand, etc.)
Old 06-02-2007, 04:25 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: First Gun

ORIGINAL: allmanbrohunter

I am new to hunting, and I was wondering people's opinions on the best first hunting gun to get. I am going to be hunting whitetail in the Fall, and I was wondering what you all think the best gun is for the job? (caliber, brand, etc.)
I don't think you can go wrong with a .30/'06. You can get ammo for that caliber all over the world,for practically any game you plan to hunt, and forconditions from thick brush to long-range work......
Old 06-02-2007, 05:13 PM
Fork Horn

it depends on a lot of things. like if you can use rifle, or if you are only limited to shotgun. also the terrain that you choose to hunt will impact your decision.
Old 06-02-2007, 05:37 PM
EKM
Typical Buck

IMHO, the first three long guns should be:
22 LR
30-06
12 Gauge

Then, paying attention to cartridge spacing,build from there!
Old 06-02-2007, 06:13 PM
Boone & Crockett

How big a person are you? Have you shot Cernterfire rifles much? The good old 30-06 is a fine round, no question. But if you are small in stature or not use to shooting, this round may do more damage than good. The recoil alone is about as much as the average person can tolerate. If your are small or not use to shooting I recommend a .243, 7-08 or similar chambering.
Old 06-02-2007, 06:44 PM
Boone & Crockett