Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 BURRIS BLACK DIAMOND  VS. LEUPOLD LR >

BURRIS BLACK DIAMOND VS. LEUPOLD LR

Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

BURRIS BLACK DIAMOND VS. LEUPOLD LR

Old 01-18-2007, 11:19 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default BURRIS BLACK DIAMOND VS. LEUPOLD LR

I am putting together a new varmint rifle. Rifle is going to be an Encore, with a 6.5 X 284 barrel from Fox Ridge. I am going to have David White do a little work to it once I get the barrel. I have narrowed it down to two scopes:

1. Burris Black Diamond. 6 X 24. With their Ballistic Mil-dot reticle.

2. Leupold LR 8.5 X 25 with the Varmint Hunting Reticle.

Rifle will be used from a fixed position, and basically for groundhogs. It might take an occasional doe, and even an occasional coyote. I am familiar with the Leupold, and the Signature Select Burris, but I am new to the Black Diamond. Everything I have read about it is good. The BD is about $125 less. Resale is not an issue. Anyone have any experience? Tom.
Old 01-18-2007, 11:23 AM
bigcountry

Default RE: BURRIS BLACK DIAMOND VS. LEUPOLD LR

I am fairly hardcore against burris anything. I bought a black diamond and its optics were good but moved over 2MOA for every 1MOA. Customer service wasn't much either.

I do have over a dozen loupies however, and like them and customer service. But my new brand these days is Bushnell elites. Can't beat the for the money.

Old 01-18-2007, 11:31 AM
Nontypical Buck

I seriously considered the Bushnell Elite. I could not find a 30 mm scope from them? I could live without the 30 mm. But I really like the new reticles from Burris and Leupold. I could not find any reticle like that from Bushnell? Tom.
Old 01-18-2007, 11:45 AM
bigcountry

I myself do not like the recticles. They are just a guide, and not right on. I myself prefer target knobs.

Old 01-18-2007, 12:03 PM
Nontypical Buck