Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Firearms Forum > Guns
 School me on ammo >

School me on ammo

Community
Guns Like firearms themselves, there's a wide variety of opinions on what's the best gun.

School me on ammo

Old 11-28-2006, 12:56 PM
Typical Buck

Default School me on ammo

I know there are many different brands out and many different styles of ammo out there. I now use Winchester SuperX. I only shoot a max of about 80 yards where I am at now but I am going to be moving back to KS in a few months so next year I will be making much longer shots. I have a Savage .270 win for my deer rifle.
Could you all give me some advice as to what is best for different ranges and so on? Any advice is helpful. This is my first year with this gun so I have only tried this one brand through it as I really don't have a good place to practice and keep blasting off shells. In the past I used a Rem 7mm mag and had someone who reloaded ammo for me to use so I never had to try out a bunch of different styles. Thank you for the help.
Brandon
Old 11-28-2006, 05:09 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: School me on ammo

23 hits and no one knows anything about ammo? Seems funny that whenever I start a thread on here no one want to give advice (accept an occasional few and I appreciate that) Maybe if I changed my name it would help?
Old 11-28-2006, 05:20 PM
DM

First of all, it's really NOT about how far your shooting... What's it's about is useing the right bullet for the job. This includes the type of bullet and it's weight in the caliber your useing.

For deer and a 270 Win. you will have good luck with 130 grain and for bigger annimials move on up to 150's. For really tough animials move on up to 150's but choose a premium bullet like Nosler partitions....

DM
Old 11-28-2006, 05:22 PM
Typical Buck

There are books written on this subject so it is hard to give a brief summary for your question.